I feel like each time I complete a quilt I struggle with how to label the quilt.  How does the quilter define what NEEDS to be on the label, and what is nice to have on the label?  It probably seems difficult because the answer changes each time depending on what the quilt is for.  And, I am openly admitting that I don’t label all my quilts.  I know, it’s horrible.  Usually, the ones I make for my own family to use are the ones that never get that label.  Why?  I don’t know, but I think it has something to do with FINISHING things… all – the – way.  Okay, well, this can be fixed.

So, I have decided, at minimum the quilt needs 1. the year it was completed 2. my initials  Then, sometimes, I add who the quilt is for (often for baby quilts) and the location the quilt was made, and my whole name not just initials.

After I decide what goes on the label, there is a debate.  Oh – do I embroider the label?  It’s so sweet that way – but oh, my, I want it finished and writing with a Micron pen is so much faster.  I don’t have alot of faith that the Micron pen stands the test of time, where embroidery probably will last longer.  Then again, embroidery can unravel or work its way out too.  (Does anyone have experience with this, how long will the micron pen endure? with regular washings?)  I often resort to fast and DONE.

For the future, I want a custom stamp that I can stamp directly onto the back with fabric paint, and then customize with additional details if I need to.  I’ll get working on that – as if the to-do list isn’t a mile long already!

Now for the photos…

The quilt label: this is a baby quilt and the gator is a private reference that the recipient will adore.  It had to go on the label, no question.

IMG_4263 IMG_4267 IMG_4270 IMG_4278 IMG_4279 IMG_4262The quilt began 1.5 years ago, right – I am focusing on finishing this year…  It sat, even basted, waiting for me to be brave enough to free motion quilt it.  Well, it’s a baby quilt and the world is not going to end if its not perfect.  What’s that saying… finished is better than perfect.  So, now it’s FINISHED and not perfect, but perfect enough.  Each color on the quilt was free motion quilted with a unique pattern. The patchwork stitched together very quickly, and came to about 70″ square.  I found the tutorial from Jeni B of In Color Order.  Her instructions are very thorough.  She calls it the Giant Vintage Star Quilt.  But guess what – this baby was one of TWO!  I better get cracking so I can at least give both quilts by the time they turn 2 years old!

