It’s been a while, but that’s not because there is nothing going on…

Do you support local schools with auction items?  This year I decided to make and donate a bag to the auction for my daughter’s elementary school – I’m hoping it at least makes as much money as I spent making it!  This bag is made from the I’ll Have One of Everything Bag pattern from Anna Maria Horner’s book Seams To Me and includes upcycled denim and corduroy. I added some hand stitching for interest, and a couple of prints for color.  It turned out quite nice, if I do say so myself, fingers crossed it finds a good home.

auctionpurse

Book and torn strips for the purse handle.

Book and torn strips for the purse handle.

During spring break around here Big Sis went away for a couple of days, so Li’l Sis helped me make these really fun jellybean bean bags.  It’s amazing how quick these came together with a little helper, she was the felt cutter and right side out turner and also bean filler!  (Didn’t leave much for me to do)  The girls and their cousin each got 3 – unfortunately their shape doesn’t lend themselves well to juggling.  I’m sure they can be used for mischief somehow.  We found the tutorial from Purl Bee, here. 

Jellybean bean bags!

Jellybean bean bags!

Also during spring break, I found myself stitching up these sashiko napkins at every idle moment for Mom’s birthday.  These unadorned spring colored napkins practically threw themselves at me at Target.  I thought they were the perfect canvas for some nice, simple hand stitching.  Since Mom’s birthday was right around the corner, I couldn’t pass them up.  Two of my favorite tools for sashiko are my Clover brand transfer paper (not pictured) – love that stuff – not cheap but it works great and can be used multiple times over before the sheet is done and my Clover brand adjustable thimble as you see in the picture.  If you are searching for a good thimble, I recommend it – highly.

IMG_4329 IMG_4327

Having been smitten with leather lately, and leather accents on bags and such, I’ve decided to give it a try.  Up next, a faux Midori Traveler notebook with leather cover – except I’m going to use notebook inserts from Field Notes.  The little journals are made in the USA with high quality papers, and are simple yet elegant AND I sourced them from a local paperie which I was excited about.  Will let you know how this all goes, onward! Apologies in advance for the horrible picture today – rain in the sky and my dark house do not make for nice photos.

IMG_4372PPS.  Just to let you in on my plans… I hope to start a series of posts about how to use Inkscape as it relates specifically to quilting – and for newbies like me who know nothing!  I’ve been really interested in the Quilt Design a Day blog, and want to give things a whirl but need to learn the computer program first – and who can afford Adobe’s Illustrator anymore?!

